“I Could Pee on This: And Other Poems by Cats” by Francesco Marciuliano (2012)

This may surprise my human readers, but poetry is not the sole province of humanity.

662TD00Z

We felines also take time out of our busy lives to compose meaningful verses in celebration, lamentation or contemplation. For my part, I prefer rhyming poetry, but there can be a simple elegance in free-verse as well.

That is where Francesco Marciuliano’s book, “I Could Pee On This: And Other Poems By Cats,” comes in:

51axz2dw8pL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

It purports to be a collection of feline-authored poems gathered by Marciuliano, poems which address a variety of feline-specific experiences and ideals.

I-Could-Pee-on-This-4

12 my chair

cat-poem-dogs-2

My human has suggested (read: insisted) that this book was written entirely by a human aping the style of several felines; I suspect he is for the most part correct, but my heart wants to believe otherwise.

cat-poem-scream2

They are not splendid poems, I will be the first to admit that, and some of them are downright insulting.

cat-poem-see-2

Even so, it would be nice to finally see feline-authored poems published for consumption by human and cat alike. To see a poem written by one who is openly feline in the American Poetry Review! To know that we are finally being recognized for the sensitive, articulate souls that we truly are!

Ah, that is the dream…

But a dream it must remain, I suppose.

cat-poet

Standard

Leave a Reply

